Cinfulcinnamon's Blog

~~Bearding the Lion~~~Ya Iggit~~

Posted on: July 21, 2010

     And They Say
“You don’t tug on Superman’s cape”
You don’t spit into the wind.
You don’t pull the mask off that Old Lone Ranger,
And you don’t mess around with Jim”
…….Jim Croce
     Confront a danger. Or “Beard the Lion”.  This term was originally a Latin proverb based on a Bible story (I Samuel 17:35) about the shepherd David, who pursued a lion that had stolen a lamb, caught it by its beard, and killed it.   Sometimes the term is amplified to “beard the lion in his den”, which may combine the allusion with another Bible story, that of Daniel being shut in a lions’ den for the night (Daniel 6:16-24).  Today it’s used more figuratively so show that we’ve stood up to our problems,  faced them head-on, and conquered them.  Hopefully.
     So, why do we do it?  Why stick our hand in the flames?  As an adult, we know better.  As a child we hopefully have someone around that will try to talk us out of stupid things so that we don’t have to go through the pain and anguish that others before us have.  Sometimes it works.  Mostly not.  In the same way we try to teach children (and others) about other disagreeable experiences.  So that they don’t get their feelings hurt instead of just a burn of the hand, or scratch on their knee, in the case of that fire.   Sometimes it works.  Mostly not.  Or in my case……in goes the hand….out comes the burnt appendage……use the other hand to smack myself in the head……and then stick that one in too.  With the bad experiences of course, not a real fire.  That’s for you folks that aren’t so good with analogies…lol
     My buddy Rob Blog-boya-lot….asked me just today why I had a penchant for going back to the scene of discourse.  He was referring to the “politics” forum on the swingers website that we are both on.  A place where the hate just oozes off the page, and disrepect for others is the norm.  He wonders why do I always think that if I want things to be different between humans, and they aren’t, why can’t I just stay away from them?  I can.  Sometimes.  But mostly not.  And most especially when it comes to me.  If something has happened between myself and another party I am not happy until I know that things can be worked out.  Or if that’s not the case, that I’ve had my say in the matter.  That I’ve been heard.  I suppose that’s what the bulk of my blogs lately have been about.  In essence.  It rocks my world to think that not everyone believes in playing nice, in getting along, in doing the right thing, and doing right by others.  And it shouldn’t surprise me when I read the lies that have been written about me.  Because when you have a good upbringing, and when you believe that good always trumps evil, and then it doesn’t?  Well, it’s just a little tough for me to swallow.
     I’m getting better at it though.  Take hope in that.  Maybe I’m just getting older, and I don’t mend as well as I used to.  Perhaps my battle scars are getting tougher and thicker.  Or maybe I just don’t give a shit anymore.  Hell, it could be “d” all of the above.  I know one thing.  I don’t let things force me to make a fool of myself anymore.  And I don’t let things ruin my personal life either.  Now, I’m much more pragmatic about the whole thing.  I’ve lost the shine on my armour that I used to have.  I know I can’t save the world.  My savior instinct is now more of a good Samaritan thing.  If I can help, I will.  But if it’s going to cost me too much emotionally……forget it.  But just like the lookie lous at the car crash or the fire, I AM gonna look.  I just don’t jump out to help quite as fast anymore.  I have learned that much after all the burn ointment and band-aids.
     I love my pal for asking the question.  I know he gets frustrated with me sometimes.  But, that’s part of being my friend.  I do these things.  I run into traffic to scoop up injured animals.  I’ve been known to take part in bar fights when it didn’t involve me too.  And I do go to the Animal Shelter to keep myself humble.  I don’t want to just remember what it’s like to get hurt.  Sometimes I must have a little pain just so I can really enjoy the pleasure.
 
peace,
 
Cinnamon
3 Responses to "~~Bearding the Lion~~~Ya Iggit~~"

Oh, no, dear Cinnamon – you don’t frustrate me at all! Surprise me, yes, you do at times. Like you, I’m a peacemaker – I seek balance and harmony and, yeah, I’ve been known to try bearding that lion… only to find tigers in there instead. You don’t stop caring about such things – you just look at it very differently; you stop and look for things with teeth and decide whether it’s really worth getting bitten. More often than not, you decide it’s not – it’s for the better for YOU if not others and, yeah, they have to learn the same lessons all of us learn in this: Sometimes, there’s nothing you can or should do. And, sometimes the sheer helplessness you may feel at this both painful and humbling enough to keep perspective as you go forward.

Thank you. Oh and btw….how did you like that new name? LOL Love ya !!

Yeah, about that new name…

Leave a Reply

Goofy Me

I am: an Air Force vet, Mom, sister, friend, Lifestyler, and all-around smartass with a heart of gold. I have lived all over the far East and learned many things about people and cooking, art and true value. I like to share my experience with the rest of the world. I will be the most loyal friend or most annoying enemy you've ever known. Honest to a fault. My life has not always been easy, but it has never ever been boring.

Blog Stats

  • 6,281 hits
Find Me On BlogFrog!

Grab My Button

Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!
Copy this code to your website to display this banner!
Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!
Make your own banner at MyBannerMaker.com!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

~~ What I’m Tweeting Right Now ~~

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

Follow me on Twitter

Follow CinfulCinnamon on Twitter
