Cinfulcinnamon's Blog

~~~Quote Favs part 3~~~

Posted on: August 24, 2010

     Today’s quotes are simple and yet profound in their own right.  Two are from one of my favorite comediennes…Lucille Ball.  And the other is an anonymous one that who knows where they come from?  They just ring true.

     Miss Ball said,

I would rather regret the things I’ve done, than the things I have not.”

     This quote really grabs me.  Makes me remember the “bucket list” that I made for myself long ago.  When the time comes for me to retire to the rocking chair, I don’t want to have regrets.  There are still many things in my life that I haven’t done or accomplished.  But I never want any of those things to be left un-done simply because I refused to try them.  There are, of course, things that were originally on the bucket list that have moved down on the priority list and some that have been removed.  After working as a mechanic in the Air Force for 12 years, I no longer want to sky dive.  I have no desire to jump out of a perfectly good airplane anymore.  However, since I still long for the freedom that flying gives I will strive to finish my private pilots license certification.  And parasailing is still on the list. 

     I can honestly say that there are not many things in my life that I regret doing.  Maybe there have been times that I shouldn’t have invested too much time or energy caring about a person or two in my life.  And some that should have gotten more attention.  While I am able, I will rectify that if I can.  But the truth is:  the good and bad experiences in my life have made me the person that I am.  And I am fairly happy with that person.  This brings me to Miss Ball’s second quote:

“Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced”

     Those words; if you believe them, can help you make monumental changes in your life.  But you must truly believe those words.  Not put them on a page, or a banner, or use them as a signature to an email, or even an imaginary list that you make for all the world to see.  You must feel them in your heart.  To say that you see something wrong in your life, admit that it is a problem and then to ask for forgiveness is all wonderful.  But if in asking for the forgiveness, you turn around and blame others for your mistakes or your short-comings….well, that defeats the purpose of the whole thing.  It’s very much like the people who say or write: “I’ve never done this before, or I’d never say/write this about another person ever again…” and then they go on to do the very thing they say they’ve never done before.  Or asking if someone they have wronged could please find it in their heart to be forgiven.  Did you catch that?  I said “to be forgiven”.  Again, shifting the blame onto the person you are asking forgiveness from. That is not true repentance.  Taking all the blame, and all the consequences upon yourself is the only true way to get the forgiveness you seek.  Forgiving yourself does nothing.  Except make it easier to forgive yourself the next time, of the next sin.  If you wrong someone publicly, you must ask for forgiveness that way. If being a “recovering Catholic” has taught me anything, it is this:  You must seek forgiveness from those you have done wrong to.  Not from within.  It’s tooooooooo easy to lie to yourself.  Take the lumps.  It’s not true what they say about admitting you have a problem being the hard part.  An alcoholic admits they have a problem everyday.  But until they go to the first meeting, or turn down the first drink…they still have the problem.  The hardest part is taking the first step toward forgiveness.  You should forgive yourself LAST…..not first.  Then, and only then can you accomplish what you say your goal is.

“Being number one just means…..there’s a number two.”

     Wow !  Did you ever think about that?  If someone says that you are number one to them…that implies that there is a line, or a list, or worse yet….a waiting list.  This quote was just to think about.  My response to it is very simple.  And my end to this blog with my own quote.

“You should not be a number anything….You should be an Only”

peace,

Cinnamon 

2 Responses to "~~~Quote Favs part 3~~~"

I found your blog from Red Riter’s BF community. I love these quotes, especially Lucille Ball’s quote, she is my favorite actress and comedian.

I usually put up a word of the day for my children and I like to also put up a quote usually one a week. I’m going to use all three of these. I love them. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you Lori. I will check you out. I love Lucy too !!!

Leave a Reply

Goofy Me

I am: an Air Force vet, Mom, sister, friend, Lifestyler, and all-around smartass with a heart of gold. I have lived all over the far East and learned many things about people and cooking, art and true value. I like to share my experience with the rest of the world. I will be the most loyal friend or most annoying enemy you've ever known. Honest to a fault. My life has not always been easy, but it has never ever been boring.

Blog Stats

  • 6,155 hits
Find Me On BlogFrog!

Grab My Button

Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!
Copy this code to your website to display this banner!
Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!
Make your own banner at MyBannerMaker.com!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

~~ What I’m Tweeting Right Now ~~

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

Follow me on Twitter

Follow CinfulCinnamon on Twitter
