Cinfulcinnamon's Blog

~~~The Pros and Cons of Cinn~~~

Posted on: September 2, 2010

     Since September is Women’s Achievement Month, I thought I’d take a moment or two to reflect upon my own personal achievements and goals for this month as well as the rest of my life.

     So many things have changed in my life in the last three years that just keeping my head above water sometimes is a struggle.  I went from being a single mom struggling at two full-time jobs and wondering how we would make ends meet to living in Florida with a new husband that treats me like a treasure that he had found on the beach.  I lost both of my parents, one from cancer, the other from complications of COPD.  Knowing that my lifelong support system was gone was and still is very hard to fathom.  I can only hope that some of my parents’ wisdom has rubbed off on me.   My son and I ate many meals of ramen noodles and peanut butter.  Then when the salmonella scare came out last year….we had to stop having the peanut butter for a while…ha ha.  My son really likes his step dad and that was very important for me before considering marriage again.  But even our new-found happiness has had its difficulties.  Three weeks after getting married, my husband had a heart attack.  We had already made plans to move to Florida, I had given notice at my jobs and so had no income while he recovered. Although we have a very comfortable retirement courtesy of my husband, trying to maintain two households made finances tight.  Eventually, we were able to come to his beautiful home here in the sunshine state.  Problems arose between my husband’s youngest daughter and myself.  She didn’t like the thought of another woman in the house.  And although I tried to meet her half way she eventually moved out on her own.  She is happy now in her own apartment with her boyfriend.

     Right now, things are wonderful. The weather has started to get cooler, we are riding the motorcycle more and enjoying life.  My goals for the immediate future include taking care of my husband and helping him maintain his health.  Working on my own physical well-being and forgetting some of the stress and aggravations that have tried to follow me from Ohio.  I just celebrated my 53rd birthday last week and am very blessed to be in perfect health.  My husband and I will be celebrating our one year wedding anniversary this month.  The first of many we hope.   I have had a long and eventful life that I love to share through my blogs.  If I can make one person think, or smile at some silly thing that I’ve experienced, then it is all worthwhile.  I’ve met people in many countries, and from many walks of life.   If there is one thing that I’ve learned in all my years; it’s that looking at someone’s situation through the eyes of someone on their level, not my own, will allow a better understanding in helping them get through a bad time.  I hope to share more understanding with people, especially women in the time ahead of me.

peace,

Cinnamon

17 Responses to "~~~The Pros and Cons of Cinn~~~"

Noble goals! I wish you great success in achieving them! Happy Anniversary too.

… and I wish you all the best.. 🙂

Stopping by from the LBS 🙂

Hi! I stopped by last week from LBS and empathised with you about your son because I’d felt similarly when mine went away. What a strong post this week. Made a lump form in my throat. Your positive attitude is to be commended and congratulations on your anniversary. I wish you loads more happiness. 🙂
Carol

Oh by the way I note you’ve visited me too….thank you and thank you for your lovely comment.

You are more than welcome. Us ol broads have to stick together….LOL Thank you for your comment.

Hi Cinn! I’m finally making it over from Lady Blogger’s! You are a true testament of a woman who has overcome and achieved so much… if nothing more than staying strong for yourself and your family! I can’t wait to read more!

Thank you Heather. You are an inspiration. Come back anytime. I enjoy you as well.

First you are an inspirational fountain of awesomeness.
Second I love that your blog has a stripper name.

Thank you Jennifer. That’s so funny that you would say that. When I changed my name legally 3 years ago, I was so worried that old ladies would “whisper” about the name….but they were actually the coolest about it. I’ve always thought the blog name was kinda “strippy” myself and I love it too. Thanks so much.

This is my first visit to your blog from LBS and I’m here to stay. In all honesty I haven’t had much luck finding many blogs that are full of honesty in their writing and I truly get that from yours.

Wishing you a belated birthday and a very Happy Anniversary and many more to come =)

Thank you so much. My life isn’t always pretty, but one thing I can say…it’s never boring. Thank you so much for stopping by….

You just inspired me. As a single mom of one little dude, it’s hard to focus on the positives in life. I just lost my source of income and times are getting very tough very fast. I have a great man in my life and he won’t let anything happen to my son or I, but reading that you overcame so much gives me the hope I need. Thank you so much!

Oh and I visited you from LBS!

Thank you so much Amber… Hearing that just made my day !!! Bless you sweetie

Just found your blog via the Lady Bloggers, love it! I, too, hang my hat in Florida and though I don’t ride, most of my friends are bikers. Love them, and your blog! 🙂

Thank you so much for stopping by and your kind words….

You are a true inspiration. The fact that you have had to overcome so much in the past few years and that you remain so optimisitic and hopeful… well, that says a lot about your character. I wish your hubby a speedy recovery so you can enjoy many more happy years together. And I hope that you continue to enjoy this bumpy road we call life 🙂

Leave a Reply

Goofy Me

I am: an Air Force vet, Mom, sister, friend, Lifestyler, and all-around smartass with a heart of gold. I have lived all over the far East and learned many things about people and cooking, art and true value. I like to share my experience with the rest of the world. I will be the most loyal friend or most annoying enemy you've ever known. Honest to a fault. My life has not always been easy, but it has never ever been boring.

Blog Stats

  • 6,239 hits
Find Me On BlogFrog!

Grab My Button

Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!
Copy this code to your website to display this banner!
Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!
Make your own banner at MyBannerMaker.com!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

~~ What I’m Tweeting Right Now ~~

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

Follow me on Twitter

Follow CinfulCinnamon on Twitter
