Cinfulcinnamon's Blog

~~Tuesday Movie Quotes – part 4~~

Posted on: September 7, 2010

     Today’s two quotes come from movies that I have seen.  The first, is from everyone’s favorite feisty fairy, Tinkerbell.  In the movie “Hook” she was played by Julia Roberts and I thought this was one of the sweetest quotes of unrequited love that I’ve heard.  She said,

“Do you know that place between being asleep and awake, where you still remember your dreams? That’s where I’ll always love, that’s where I’ll always wait for you.”

     I don’t know about you, but I know I’ve felt that way.  When the object of my affection didn’t even know I existed.  A couple of years ago I was in a relationship like that.  I positively adored a man, and would have done anything for him…and did.  And all I was to him was  a bootycall.  No matter how I pursued him, or was cool and uncaring around him, it didn’t matter.  I was always the one to call him first.  Always the one that would plan things for us to do.  Anything I could think of just to get to see him and be with him.  That was a hard one to get over.  I can still look at his picture and get weak in the knees.  And no matter how much I love my husband, that other man will always have a place in my heart.  Might be that I never captured his heart and my ego doesn’t like that fact.  If there had actually been some kind of a substantive relationship with him and then we had broken up; I think it would have been different.  Because I would at least feel like he had invested some feelings into the thing and maybe he would have hurt a little too.  As it was, I was the only one with the broken heart when I heard that he’d found someone he wanted to date and get serious with.  As it was…..I was the only one living in never never land…Thanks Tinkerbell

The next quote came from the movie “Harry Potter”.  The wise old Dumbledore said,

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to your enemies, but a great deal more to stand up to your friends”

And oh my my is that ever true.  It’s bad enough that we spend so much time trying to fit in with people, making them friends and making them a part of our lives.  Now, in order to be a true friend, sometimes it’s absolutely necessary to tell them something that you know they are not going to want to hear.  Comes back to that whole honesty thing.  And true friends may still get their feelings hurt if they don’t get the answer from you that they want, but that is too bad.  You are their friend because they expect nothing less from you but the truth.  And if it so happens that they can’t handle that truth, then they aren’t a true friend anyway.  I have recently had to cut someone loose from my circle of friends for this very reason.  All this person lived for was drama.  If you told this woman  you had a goldfish at home in a bowl, why she had a barracuda in her bathtub.  She never wanted to be outdone.  No story was big enough.  There was no such thing as a normal day for her.  There always had to be an email or a text or worse yet, the phone call telling me about how much chaos there was in her life.  It just got old.  My life is complicated enough.  But if I have to spend valuable time propping this person up all the time, and stroking her ego and listening to the lies she told, it was just too much.  No one needs friends like that and so I had to stop all communications with her.  And other friends have had to do the same to her as well.  It’s sad really because she has a lot to offer when she isn’t telling story after story that is more outlandish than the last one.  I wish her peace in her life IF that is possible.  But Dumbledore was right.  It is truly difficult to stand up to your friends…..but it must be done sometimes.

peace,

Cinnamon

11 Responses to "~~Tuesday Movie Quotes – part 4~~"

Dumbledore had it so right. It’s way harder for me to say no to my friends (and my kids). I have no trouble being a perfect bitch to the annoying telemarketers, though!

Amen to that !! Anyone that gets between me and my fork trying to sell me something is dead meat !!

Great quotes! Just this past weekend I had a heart-to-heart with a friend of mine, told her some truth about herself she didn’t want to hear. While I did it with love, it still hurt both of us and for that I’m sorry. But it had to be done, and only hope she takes it to heart and grows from it.

Hello from an old friend. Recently open yahoo IM and saw the note about your blog. I’m now following you on twitter (SudokuG).

Well hello there and welcome. Miss you dear !!!

I love that Tinkerbell quote. Wow, I totally know what you mean. There are relationships in my past with people who never quite loved me in the same way that I them and it will always stick, because as you say: it’s a terrible blow to the ego. That being said, at least you’ve found someone who makes you happy and hopefully you were able to grow from that painful experience in the past.

And I can’t ever seem to stand up to my friends. But you did what you had to do to cut unnecessary drama out of your life. You don’t need that and I’m sure you feel much lighter these days without that extra weight on your shoulders.

Thanks so much for coming by today and for your sweet comment–that totally made my day 🙂 Hope you’re having a great week!

No, thank you Charlotte. Your comments were wonderful

I’ve always thought it best to avoid other people’s drama. It’s okay once in a while, but that perpetual sky is falling attitude is just too much.

You are so right Joey. You’d think they would learn. It finally came to a head when another friend and I counted between ourselves the fact that this person’s grandfather had “died” 4 times. (at least that was the story that many times). It was time to cut them loose !!! Thank you for the comment.

Wonderful awesome quotes! Definitely worth remembering. Dumbledore is right. It is harder to stand up to your friends, whether drama related or doing something you don’t agree with.

visiting from SITS

Thank you for the visit and the comment.

Leave a Reply

Goofy Me

I am: an Air Force vet, Mom, sister, friend, Lifestyler, and all-around smartass with a heart of gold. I have lived all over the far East and learned many things about people and cooking, art and true value. I like to share my experience with the rest of the world. I will be the most loyal friend or most annoying enemy you've ever known. Honest to a fault. My life has not always been easy, but it has never ever been boring.

Blog Stats

  • 6,155 hits
Find Me On BlogFrog!

Grab My Button

Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!
Copy this code to your website to display this banner!
Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!
Make your own banner at MyBannerMaker.com!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

~~ What I’m Tweeting Right Now ~~

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

Follow me on Twitter

Follow CinfulCinnamon on Twitter
