Cinfulcinnamon's Blog

~~~SOME Things ARE Perfect~~~

Posted on: November 21, 2010

   

  I’ve been on somewhat of  a tear this week after finding out that there was to be a re-make of “The Wizard of Oz”.  Not the kind of remake that Michael Jackson and Diana Ross and others did with “The Wiz”.  No, this is to be a total re-make.  And it broke my heart.  There are some things that are just perfect the way that they are.  And this movie is one of those things.  Yes, of course they can add special effects, and new, more popular actors and actresses.  That is not the part that bothers me.  It’s the “essence” of the movie that I feel will be lost.  And all the feelings that I had when watching this classic that will be lost.

     My Mom told me about the first time that she saw TWOO.  She was a young girl and got to see it for the very first time on the big screen at a movie theatre.  Before then, she had never seen a colorized film.  I can still see the light in her eyes when she described the way she felt when Dorothy opens that door and the Land of Oz was in color.  Holding onto the memories of my Mom is very important to me.  She’s only been gone a little over a year and a half so I am trying to always think about the good times I shared with her.  And that doesn’t even account for all the joy the movie gave myself and my siblings each year around Easter, when it would come on t.v. and we would all sit around being amazed, and singing with the songs.  Now its shown on t.v. a million times a month and it’s lost it’s “magic”.  But this is only part of the reason that I think a re-make would ruin this movie. 

     The lessons that were taught in the movie may be duplicated in the new version; and maybe for a new generation it will be the first time that these lessons could be taught.  I hope so.  Because the things that my generation and the one before got from TWOO are too important not to learn.  I’ve read some others’ take on “finding happiness in my own back yard“.   And I agree that it’s not meant literally.  Yes, you can travel and see the world, meet all kinds of people, and get your heart broke by any number of them.  To me; my own backyard is the place within my heart.  Making myself happy.  Not counting on others to do it for me.  No looking at the material things in my life to do the trick.  I have had money in my life.  I’ve also done without much more.  I will agree that the only thing that money can’t buy is poverty !!  And it may not buy happiness, but you can sure rent it for a while !!  But when it is all said and done, we are all still left with ourselves.  And how we choose to live our lives is what matters most and will bring us the most happiness.

“Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain”   What did this lesson teach you?  Don’t let anyone else pull your strings.  Be afraid of anyone that hides their intentions behind a “fake” persona.  They are really hiding their own imperfections and insecurities in order make themselves appear “larger than life”, to gain control, or force their will on others.  In this scene, Toto represents the “unmasking” of this kind of person.  And that sometimes, it’s someone small that is the un-doing of these “fakes”.  Yes, in the end The Wizard turned out to be a really cool guy.  But he had to be forced to be himself.  Allowed to let his true generosity and warm character come through. Lesson?  Don’t be afraid to come out from behind the curtain and just be yourself.

The munchkins?  Represent the “little things” in life that help or hinder us.  Hold us back, or help us on the way.  Don’t ignore them in either instance.

Oh, how I hate that they are re-doing this movie.  It feels to me like a re-write of my childhood.  And there is nothing about that I want to change…..only live again from time to time.

Have a heart, use your brain, and face life with courage.  And never forget to be thankful for what you have.

peace,

Cinnamon

6 Responses to "~~~SOME Things ARE Perfect~~~"

Hey, here from LBS.
Totally agree with all of this – can’t believe they are remaking it! There’s nothing wrong with the original. I’ll never forget the scene where the house gets blown away – my little sister used to get up every morning and watch the entire film before my parents got up…

The charm of that movie lies in its lack of special effects. The horse of a different color wouldn’t be as cool if it didn’t look kind of hokey.

I’ve seen that movie about ten times since my daughter first watched it two years ago, there’s just no room in my heart for a re-make!

Damned movie makers can’t seem to come up with anything good/original so they start messing with the classics and I agree that they should leave TWOO alone. I’d never waste any time or money to see the remake of this film…

Next they’ll fuck with Gone With The Wind…

I totally agree with you on this! Some things are definitely perfect just the way are, and some movies should NEVER be remade…TWOO, and Gone with the Wind comes to mind too. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, eh? Found you on Lady Bloggers, btw. 🙂

Amen and amen and amen. I have waaaaay more friends now that I’ve come out from behind the green curtain.

I hope you have a great Thanksgiving!

Oh I so agree! I still remember the awe, even on television, of the color of the Land of Oz! I won’t watch a remake – I’m not ruining the movie because there is no way they can capture the wonder and integrity of the original. It would be like changing the old black and white movies The Thin Man series and Topper! Hokey sometimes but pure clean funny!

Leave a Reply

Goofy Me

I am: an Air Force vet, Mom, sister, friend, Lifestyler, and all-around smartass with a heart of gold. I have lived all over the far East and learned many things about people and cooking, art and true value. I like to share my experience with the rest of the world. I will be the most loyal friend or most annoying enemy you've ever known. Honest to a fault. My life has not always been easy, but it has never ever been boring.

Blog Stats

  • 6,239 hits
Find Me On BlogFrog!

Grab My Button

Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!
Copy this code to your website to display this banner!
Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!
Make your own banner at MyBannerMaker.com!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

~~ What I’m Tweeting Right Now ~~

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

Follow me on Twitter

Follow CinfulCinnamon on Twitter
